Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Cold Times Call for Hot Measures

Posted by buffmuffy on October 9, 2009

It is starting to be that time of year again.  When fall turns bitter cold.  Unfortunately it was after a couple weeks of fall.  Hopefully this is just a cold spell in the fall season because I really am not ready for it to be winter yet.  I need time to adjust to the temperatures dang it!  Especially when I hate the cold and I’m aspiring to run through the winter.  Outside.

And as my title suggests…. I have been trying to drink lots of hot tea 🙂  I saw a really cool tumbler at target that steeps loose leaf tea on the go … but all my tea is bagged.  I need a cute thermos!

Anyway… my brand new tattoo is feeling a lot better.  It’s big and it was swollen for a day but it is better now that I have on some comfy sweat pants.  Here is a picture for those of you that didn’t see it on twitter – I had to doctor it a bit so I apologize for the choppiness.  Wanted it to be safe for work viewing ish!  It has saran wrap on it so beware.

IMG00485-20091007-1940

And now I have some srs biz to talk about, and hopefully someone will have some insight for me.  I have a feeling that I am either becoming hypoglycemic or that I haven’t had symptoms strong enough to realize until now.  In the past week and day, I have nearly passed out twice.  It has only happened in life once before and I was 17 at work, barely eating because my boyfriend had broken up with me.  I had oj and a bagel and felt better.  Last Thursday I was running on 3 hours of sleep and all I ate was an Amazing Grass bar, tea, and noxplode.  The noxplode only accelerated the process as it makes you burn more energy, or in otherwords burn more blood glucose.  I wrote about this already, but I had a small muffin and felt only slightly better and then had a big cookie and felt tons better.  I even ran that day.

Well, Wednesday night at work I was starting to feel woozy.  I had just gotten my tattoo done, which would also be a cause of lowered blood glucose, and instead of following my tattoo artist’s advice to eat sugar, I thought that a lettuce wrap and chips would be enough.  Unfortunately about an hour later, I almost passed out in the office.  I had to sit down, I drank water, and one of the out of store bosses went to go get me some candy.  I ate one candy and felt okay, and then I had more and felt a lot better.  In both instances, the second thing I ate had protein in it (cookie was made with oats, peanut butter in the candy) which apparently helps with hypoglycemia as I recently found out.

I have purchased a blood sugar monitor from walmart, but unfortunately it came with no test strips.  So I’m at a loss of what to do.  The strips are expensive and i have no health insurance (people keep telling me to go to a doctor but that’s not an option!).  I want to test my blood sugars to see if I really do have a problem, and to monitor said problem so that this doesn’t happen again.  Because it is often sudden onset.  Any suggestions?

Anyway, on to eats!

I left off on Wednesday lunch.  I went home to get my tattoo, and then I had my lacking in carbs dinner that led me to my downward spiral of blood glucose… Jimmy Johns!  I had a veggie unwich (boyfriend thought I didn’t want cheese- wtf?  This probably didn’t help, lol) and some salt and vinegar kettle chips.

IMG00483-20091007-1933

Yum yum!

Oh, and I received this lovely package from Pom Wonderful!  It is nectarine and kiwi flavoured pomegranate juice, and I can’t wait to try them!!!!  Yes I got this package for free and no I am not being paid by Pom Wonderful (anyone else think these new blogger rules are dumb?).

IMG00482-20091007-1932

But I DO love me some Pom Wonderful.  Holy my I can’t wait to try these!

And then I was brought the following two candies … two of my faves:

Cookies and Cream king size Hershey bar …

IMG00486-20091007-2122

Yeah I ate the whole thing and it was amazing but not enough for my blood sugars I guess … and no Hershey’s is not paying me for this (>.<).

And peanut butter m&m's (not paying me either… man I'd be rich if all these companies were though!)

IMG00487-20091007-2159

This one made me feel much better.  Yummy!  A coworker ate a few of them for me, hehe.  So I guess I can’t say I ate the whole bag, but I kind of did lol.

Anyway, woke up with 3 hours of sleep like always on Thursday mornings and decided to have a carbalicious proteintastic breakfast.  Enter 2 extra crispy orowheat english muffins with bees knees pb and wholesome sweeteners honey:

IMG00488-20091008-0700

Delicious!  Paid for orowheat and bees knees … got wholesome sweeteners honey for free but am not being paid to advertise.  Gosh, I feel like I’m being excessive on this new rule – do I really have to disclose everything?

I went to my lab and I didn’t pass out!  I even accidentally stayed longer than I was supposed to.  I was working in another residence hall kitchen.  It was fun.  I got many compliments on my work ethic there. 🙂  I didn’t get to eat there though, and I had to go to anatomy lecture so I didn’t get to eat lunch until almost 1.  But it sure was delicious!

IMG00476-20091007-1155

Another dark chocolate covered cherry sandwich!  This time I piled on the preserves and it was PERFECTO.  Yum yum!  Look at all this gooey goodness:

IMG00478-20091007-1158

!!!! In love with these.

I didn’t realize that I hadn’t eaten much until I was in lab.  I was failing on food intake!  I did have a caramel apple sucker though.   So I was super ready to eat dinner when I got home around 930pm.

I had a Campbell’s Select harvest chicken noodle with whole grain pasta (not free, bought it at store) and a Chobani Pineapple (free, won in a contest; don’t fine me 11 grand)…

IMG00490-20091008-2129

Great dinner!  I am in LOVE with pineapple Chobani.  IN LOVE!!!

I had another caramel apple sucker too.. those things are good!

This morning I woke up and failed to find that I brought my favorite jeans along with.  Instead I only had a pair of too-tight-to-wear-with-new tattoo jeans.  So I had my breakfast in the parking lot of Scheels, waiting for it to open.  I got a lovely pair of black dodger pants – these sweat pants are my FAVORITE.  I get them a size too big and they are amazing.  I already have black ones but I can’t find them and you always need more than one pair.  I promptly changed in my car, lol.

Breakfast was another dark chocolate covered cherry sandwich and a raspberry kombucha!

IMG00491-20091009-0912

Desi decided that she hates kombucha, so I got all 3 of her bottles!  Yay!  Lol.

Anyway, time for class!  You all have a great day!

-Muffy

6 Responses to “Cold Times Call for Hot Measures”

  1. WOW–that’s pretty amazing!

  2. Taylor said

    I think the best thing to do is see your doctor. But the times you mention nearly passing out are when you’ve not eaten much and you had your tattoo done. My Mum and Dad give blood and are told to eat and drink something afterwards. I know there’s been times when my Mum’s felt woozy and like passing out and that was because she hadn’t eaten enough. I think while you wait to see your doctor keep a record of what you’ve eatn, drank etc incase it happens again and you can tell your doc this. HOpe this helps.

  3. lowandbhold said

    Wow, what a neat tattoo! Sorry about the fainting spells I agree that seeing a doc is the best thing to do.

  4. janetha said

    oh babe i WISH i had suggestions for you but i have no clue! i hope you get some good advice from your readers though. your tattoo is gorgeous! and that is saying a lot cause i dont like tattoos 😛 i hope you figure out what is wrong soon! and in the meantime, have a great weekend my dear ❤

  5. traynharder23 said

    pineapple chobani is a POT OF GOLD at the end of th erainbooooooooo

    i love that tat!

  6. Brandi said

    I think you should definitely go see a doctor. if you don’t have insurance, check out the free clinics/health departments in your area. There’s usually places you can go without it, and it would be worth getting checked out.

    cool tattoo!

Leave a Reply

 
