Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Overwhelmed

Posted by buffmuffy on September 11, 2009

Yep.  I am overwhelmed.  But I think you’ll understand why after this post!

Also, I wanted to share where I sleeped a couple posts ago, but I guess the picture didn’t work.  So here is another one!  At least the bedspread is pretty, right?  Not so much the futon.  Lol.

IMG00235-20090910-2339

So.  I left off with lunch on Wednesday.  Well, shortly thereafter I decided that I needed carbs.  On my way to the bathroom, I spotted a fresh baked giagantor chocolate chip cookie.  I loved these things last semester, so I grabbed one.  I prefer the chocolate pb ones, but this was good enough for my book.

IMG00217-20090909-1458

It of course didn’t taste as good as I’d hoped, as I love the homeade pb ones better simply because they transport and sit a little better and stay a little fresher.  At least they taste that way.  But this is a large cookie.  And I enjoyed every bit of it.  While eating, I crocheted another “coaster” as my boyf referred to them as for my eventual blanket.  That is my third one!

At 4, I had my Food Production Management class.  Boring… we actually divided up into groups to start our menu planning project though, and the people in my group were put with me because we are all omaha commuters.  Hopefully they don’t mind working on weekend evenings with this stuff!  Otherwise I’ll be in Lincoln!  Lol.

Anyway, on the way home I picked up some goodies at the gas station… two tubes of aspartame ridden delicious flavoured diet white tea (very little aspartame in these I would guess, because I can barely taste much sweet) and a couple cheesesticks.

IMG00218-20090909-1737

When I arrived at home an hour later, I sat down unfortunately at my desk to do homework.  I didn’t finish it however, and this left me in a frantic state because my class was at 8am in the morning and this meant I would have to wake up at 5 to complete it in time.  I had to close that night at work, so that meant 2.5 hours of sleep for me.

While doing my homework, I did have a delcious pizza.  The boyf kindly picked up tomatos and spinach (so i could have a green smoothie in the morning for energy) for me on his way home and I added as toppers.  He loved these.  I used a pita flatbread, some farmer’s cheese, 1/4 of a tomato, basil, and some spinach leaves.

IMG00219-20090909-1858

I then rushed to work and … that was the rest of my night.  I did eat at work too unfortunately.  I say unfortunately because afterwards I really wish I would have opted for something else.  I had a flatbread with chicken, cheese, tomato, (melted) and lettuce on top.  Meh.  I used to love these, but I just wasn’t feeling it.  And I added 300 calories to my already indulgent day.  Bah.  Oh well.

IMG00220-20090909-2238

I ended up waking up around 610am … Oops!  Good thing I prepped my smoothie the night before! ^_^  I’m going to have to start doing this more often, for sures!  I had it with a Wild Blueberry Pure bar for necessary nutrition.

IMG00221-20090910-0659

This Pure bar was AMAZING!  It was similar to the cherry cashew in that the blueberries were the second ingredient blended in with the dates, so the bar was slightly blue.  It was so amazing.

IMG00222-20090910-0700

And what is in my smoothie?

Well, Bob, I’m glad you asked.

I was experimenting this morning since I have such a lack of sleep on Tues and Thurs morns.  My boyf’s friend gave him an entire tub of BNS NoXplode, and after lecturing him on making sure he eats along with taking it, I decided to try some myself.  My smoothie contained the following:

-1 scoop amazing grass green superfood

-1 scoop blue raspberry NoXplode

-1 scoop greens+ Omega3 Chia™

-handful of spinach

-thawed frozen banana

-few chunks of frozen mixed fruit

The Verdict?

Pretty good.  The blue raspberry taste was a little … meh … but it was nice and fruity and good!

And results of the experiment?

Wow.  I can’t believe what happened.  What happened to me yesterday was absolutely amazing.  I don’t know if it was the amazing grass or the noxplode or a combination of the two, but I found a miracle for my situation.  All day long (which I will get to in a minute) from the point I woke up until the time I went to sleep (nearly 18 hours) I didn’t nod off, I didn’t feel like I was going to crash, I didn’t feel like I wanted to fall asleep.  I could tell I was extremely exhausted physically, but my brain was fine.  My body responded instead by being hungry.  Now, I know that sleep is important and I would much rather get good rest, but I don’t have that option right now.  This was the most fantastic feeling I have had the whole time I have been in school.  Just last week, when I got the same amount of sleep, I was nodding off in my 8am class so badly that I had to subject myself to diet dew.  And then I started nodding off and waking back up vilolently in my 1230pm lecture.  And then I wanted to fall asleep in the car.  And I wanted to sleep during lab.  And when I went back to Desi’s, I was practically almost sleeping the whole time.  But this time?   Complete opposite.  I felt a strong sense of concentration.  No sleepiness taking over what I was doing.  I seriously cannot explain the feeling any better.

In addition, the chia seeds I added made my smoothie so thick!  It was deliciously thick!  Yum!

And now, I have a question for you oat blenders out there.  Do you cook the oats before blending or after blending?????

I have a plan for breakfasts instead of just doing oatmeal, and I’m excited about it.  I want to make a protein oat smoothie essentially, but I’m unsure if I even need to heat that… or can I juts blend the oats into the smoothie for thickness and let it sit over night and call it good?

When I got to school, I had 2 minutes to get to class.  I decided to sit down and try and get some homework done, but was unsuccessful and decided to just go upstairs.  I was 3 minutes late, but our teacher wasn’t inside the class yet.  And when she did walk in, we waited for a couple missing people.  I took the opportunity to keep working on the homework.  And then she announced we didn’t necessarily have to turn it in until 4pm.  Oh.  I finished later on in the class anyway, and turned it in.  We also had a test, which I guess I didn’t do as well as I thought on.  I swore I was going to get an A but alas I was wrong.  I’m not really sure where I went wrong however, so I’m a bit upset!  Hopefully we have a chance to look at them next week.  :-/

Anyway, like I mentioned, I was hungry all day long.

I ate my lunch early since I had my breakfast so early.  I had a cheese sandwich thin and some pretzels.  Not very filling, but it made the cut in my franticness that morning rushing to get out the door.

IMG00223-20090910-1047

On the way over to lecture, I had a delicious Kashi dark chocolate coconut bar.  Yum, yum!

IMG00224-20090910-1146

After lecture, we ventured to Desi’s to study because we had a quiz in anatomy lab that night.  We had about 5 hours to study, and by golly we used all of them.   It isn’t hard material, but you have to remember SO much stuff.  We had a literal week to know every nook and cranny of the skull, including the cranial nerves and what holes they went through.  I don’t think I did any better than the last quiz in which we had to know everything about every tissue along with general anatomy terms.   So.  I wasn’t excited about this quiz needless to say.

I started off my studying with a snack of the Rachel’s yogurts I mentioned and didn’t eat in my last post.  I topped them with dried fruits.

IMG00225-20090910-1420

Near the end of study time, I found myself inhaling a Pumpkin Pie kashi bar and a raspberry chocolate kashi bar.

IMG00227-20090910-1704IMG00228-20090910-1707

Wow, the pumpkin pie bar was so amazing, I wanted to get out the whip cream right then and there!  Hot diznam!

We left to the dreaded lab and took our quiz.  I decided to take a piece of cheese in the car with.  Do I look stressed out or what?

IMG00229-20090910-1800

It was difficult.  My mind was going blank.  I didn’t have enough time really to make note cards AND study them enough, so now I know what I need to do for next time.  I definitely need to make notecards over the weekend and then use that time for pure study.  We learned all about the vertebrae, the clavicle, the ribs, and the pelvic girdle in lab.  And now we have to know every nook and cranny of those areas for Tuesday’s quiz.

Understand why I am overwhelmed yet?  Argh!

Anyway, went back to Desi’s after lab and just vegged.  I did a tiny bit of homework and then realized I couldn’t complete all of it because I had to take a worksheet to the library to turn in.  I forgot all about the quiz I have this morning, but I’m going to study for it immediately after writing this post.  It shouldn’t be too difficult, but then again it is the first quiz in this class so far so I’m a bit nervous.

For dinner, I had a bowl of greek salad containing romaine, parthenon greek dressing, feta cheese, red pepper, and raw acorn squash.  Wow, this was good.  I need a little more zing in these greek salads though, and often I get the oil and vinegar based dressing all over my face and feel greasy the rest of the night, lol.  I also had a bowl of Desi’s Tuscan soup.  In it she put chicken broth, evaporated milk, potato cubes, spinach, spicy italian sausage, pepper, and sea salt.  I think that was all.

IMG00230-20090910-2151IMG00234-20090910-2231

I had the bowl of soup X2 …. Lol.

IMG00232-20090910-2152

And that brings me to today!  Finally!  This is like a workout, really!

For breakfast I had some oats containing some more greens+ Omega3 Chia™ and some dark brown sugar.  I also added in raisins and dried strawberries.  I ate this in the car on the way to school and had some dragon something hot tea.  My throat hurts, so it sounded amazing to have some tea.  Yes, I put the tea in my nalgene.  It kept it really hot surprisingly!  I had to uncap it for a while to even drink it.

IMG00236-20090911-0848

I finished my library homework and now have to study for my quiz today… so wish me luck!

-Muffy

9 Responses to “Overwhelmed”

  1. Good luck, girlie!! 🙂

  2. Lainie said

    Ahhh…you have every reason to be overwhelmed! I feel for ya, girlie!

    Love the pictures of you – you’re so beautiful!

  3. janetha said

    i felt overwhelmed just reading it. and i dont know how you function off that much sleep! i would die 😦 lmao “well bob, im glad you asked” i love you. you may looked stressed but you are gorg nonetheless! glad to see your shining face.. and good luck on the quiz!!!!

  4. April (Foods of April) said

    Whoa theres so much delicious foods going on here!!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  5. Mia {runs and rests} said

    Good luck on the quiz! 😀 Wow, that smoothie sounds incredible. Glad it worked for you. Still, take a nap whenever you can. 😉

  6. BEST OF LUCK, I’m sure you’ll ROCK IT!

    I don’t like the idea of oats in smoothies…that’ll be like really weird and gummy, wouldn’t it? I’d just rather eat it the traditional way, I think…

    And boy, do I understand the feeling of overwhelmed-ness…I JUSt finished my paper, and my teacher assigned yet another one due within a week. AND I got assigned an article late, right in the beginning of a weekend again, so I can’t interview anyone until Monday. SUCKS, but sigh…let’s live each day for each days’ pleasure only, shall we? 😉

  7. Wow..maybe I do need to try Amazing Grass!

    I haven’t tried to blend oats yet…the idea is intimdating to me! I think you cook and then blend? I am worried about the oats sticking to the blender though…I don’t want to gip myself! 😉

    GOod luck with your quiz!

  8. lowandbhold said

    Ugh I’m sorry you’re so overwhelmed. I totally remember those times in school where it was just one thing after another and the stress and tension was just so palpable. I hope things calm down for you soon. That’s awesome that you were so alert after drinking that smoothie. And the cookie looks awesome, as well as everything else!

  9. Sarah said

    We can start a club for the overwhelmed 🙂 I am a TA this semester and it is rough trying to schedule teaching, taking seminars, the work loads that each bring on, and still trying to find time for a little tv, blogging, and exercise! We can make it through the semester, I have faith 🙂 Thanks for the comment and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

 
