Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


10 Million Fireflies!

Posted by buffmuffy on September 2, 2009

Haha, this title doesn’t mean much other than it is one of my current fave songs by Owl City (fireflies).

Man I had a pretty good day, but I’ll get to that in a bit.

I left off yesterday at lunch.  On the way home, I snacked on some Nature’s Path pumpkin flax granola on the way home.

IMG00150-20090831-1745

When I got home, I decided it was time to pick my beautiful yellow tomato!  It is tiny, but cute!

IMG00151-20090831-1850

Mike decided to order Jimmy Johns, so I got a veggie unwich with extra avocado and tomato, and put my own light olive oil mayo.

IMG00154-20090831-1913

When they arrived, they brought us some free bread.  I saved most of it, but had a hunk of it.

IMG00152-20090831-1911

Yum yum!

I brought some trail mix to work…

IMG00155-20090831-1943

And I also had a snack… yeah not the most healthiest thing since the flatbread is fried, but with chicken, lettuce, and tomato it isn’t a bad decision me thinks!

IMG00156-20090831-2249

I went home and promptly got my 4 hours of sleep.  Lol.

For breakfast, I tried something new…

PomX Iced Coffee in the chocolate flavour.  I normally do NOT like coffee, but this drink was AMAZING.  It had a slight chocolate flavour and had a nice chocolate milky flavour.  I loved it.  It had the PomX antioxidant blend in it, and it was made with nonfat milk.  SO amazing.

IMG00160-20090901-0731

With it I had a bunch of sliced strawberries.  That was all I had with since the coffee did contain 190 calories.

My 9am lab was my food science lab.  Today we learned how to can stuff.  It was so exciting!  My group made canned apples in water, canned apples in syrup, fruit leather, and some dried green peppers and carrots.  I went out and bought some jars and stuff to can with tonight, and am probably going to get a canning pot too soon since they are pretty cheap!  I can’t wait to start making my own preserves and such.  I had no idea it was so easy!  I also want to try and get a dehydrator for a good price and make fruit leathers and dried fruits.

For lunch I packed some multigrain crackers with feta cheese and a bees knees & preserves sandwich thin.  The preserves soaked into the sandwich thin a bit, but it wasn’t too soggy to eat, lol.

IMG00158-20090901-0730

Up next was my anatomy lecture.  Afterwards I went over to Desi’s apartment and we studied for the whole freaking 4 hours.  I colored and filled in some skull diagrams (turned to find out that we did way more than we needed to do) and made a huge stack of notecards for the quiz today.

I had a Kashi cookie as another study snack! 🙂

IMG00164-20090901-1524

I tried a Vega bar today as well.  I tried the Bare vibrance flavour.  It was pretty tasty.  It was sweet and slightly green tasting in a good way.

IMG00162-20090901-0732

It kept me full all night long, too!

I did pretty well on the quiz I think… an A hopefully!  We then had a popquiz which I believe I got all but 2 or 3 right.  Not my best but whatever, we had JUST learned the material that day.

We went to walmart after lab and that is where I got my canning things.  I got a bunch of 1 pint jars, some lids, an accessory kit, and some pectin.  I also got dinner!  I picked up one of those Healthy Choice steamer bowls and a couple small nectarines.  I added some red, green, and purple (yes, purple!!!) peppers and some feta cheese.  It was really yummy with the feta on there and I wish I had more!

IMG00172-20090901-2245IMG00173-20090901-2253

My dessert was some Newman’s Own Organics Hermits.

IMG00174-20090901-2304

And thus concludes my day, along with an apricot Fruitabu fruit leather.  No pic because I’m in lazy mode now, lol.

I get to sleep in tomorrow a little which will be nice.  I have class at 11 and then a 4 hour break (bleh) and then a class at 4.  I need to go workout during this time for sure.  And I’ll have time to catch up on some blogs too!  And I should probably work on some homework.  Haha.

Hope everyone has had a great Tuesday.

-Muffy

6 Responses to “10 Million Fireflies!”

  1. Dawn said

    OMG I love the little tomato…SO cute! 🙂
    Lucky you, getting to sleep in! Yum I’m dying to try that POM Iced Coffe…I’ve heard some mixed reviews but I think next time I’m at the store I’ll pick it up!

  2. brandi said

    that POM coffee sounds so interesting! and i love the baby tomato 🙂

    i didn’t know jimmy johns had avocado…hm.

  3. Katharina said

    POM makes coffee?!!! WHOA MAMA! Those hermits look sooo cute 🙂

    Hope you get to rest some.

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  4. Ann said

    Hey, I didn’t know POM made a coffee bevg- that may be good – since I just said I don’t like concentrated pom – wayyyy too sweet- this looks possibly delicious! I’ll have to look for it next time:)

  5. Ashley said

    Looks like school is going well so far! 🙂 Have to admit, reading about you classes, and knowing that colleges are getting back into the swing of things – makes me want to go back to school for a Masters… in anything! 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well. 🙂

  6. janetha said

    wow 4 whole hours of sleep!? you must not be tired AT ALL. i am a little bummed that pom has 190 cals~i hate drinking my cals and i had been wanting to try that. oh well, such is life. exxxtra avocado, i like the way you think! i hope your wednesday is going good, i sooo wish you could come to san fran with me!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

 
