Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Turbo, You’re Expensive!

Posted by buffmuffy on August 18, 2009

Oh man we had a good drive home.  Yesterday before we left, I had breakfastlunch of a greek salad again.  This thing was delicious again lol.

GetAttachment

My dad wanted to arrange my dish to be more photogenic, but I gave him and Mike (the boyf) my peppercinis.  Lol.

On the way home, we stopped at a gas station and read that the transmission fluid was bone dry on the dipstick.  Not good!  After careful manual inspection and pouring in a quart of AT fluid, we realized that we just poured the wrong fluid into the front differential.  Which is right above the transmission.  The dipstick goes through the shell of the transmission … and the AT dipstick was on the other side completely hidden by tubing!  I should have looked at the manual closer a few days before when we were reading that dipstick …

Needless to say the only thing it might do is be corrosive to the gears in the differential and I need to get it changed ASAP.  So that is what I’m doing today, but dang it is expensive!!

After price checking, I found that it is going to cost me between $50-110 for a differential fluid change, but I can get my oil changed for $20 with free rotation, and then I’ll get my tires balanced for $20 at walmart.  $90 + tax later, I’ll be good as new for the commute to college that I have to do thrice a week and back.  But we did figure out that my gas mileage is going to last about a week, which is pretty good if I can make that happen.  I don’t know how I’ll afford it, but something will work out.

During the car ride, I had a bunch of water and a baggie of Newman’s Own Organics Honey Wheat pretzels.  These things were sweet and salty and I loved em!

IMG00071-20090817-1510

The rest of the drive went smoothly though, and we were glad to be back home even though we had to rearrange and fix a few things.

When I got home, I caught up on a couple shows on the DVR … including Real World, LA Ink, and True Blood.

I had a few snacks… I got my shipment in of mixmygranola and tried each one.

Blackberry Muffy Mix and Trail Muffy Mix:

IMG_4447IMG_4448IMG_4449

If you can’t read those …

Blackberry Muffy Mix: organic granola, dried blackberries, dried raspberries, dried strawberries, caffeine powder, organic pomegranate, and lots of love!

Trail Muffy Mix: organic granola, organic acai powder, bee pollen powder, cranberries, banana slices, dried papaya, dried melon slices, roasted almonds, organic coco shreds, and lots of love!

Had some Newman’s Own Organics chocolate chocolate chip cookies…(I may or may have not had more than this <.<)

IMG_4450

I also had a few eggs ala Muffy (half scrambled half poached)…

IMG_4452

And I had some Newman’s Own Organics Fig Newmans and some Newman’s Own Organics dried apricots as well.

(no picture)

So today I’m taking care of Turbo.  She is so expensive sometimes!

I’ll update later after lunch with some eats.

Oh, and I checked my weight this morning and didn’t gain any weight from the trip!  Woot!

For now I leave you with the picture of the storm we drove into…

IMG_4397

And what we drove out of the storm to….

IMG_4423

Pretty, huh?  Almost as if the storm moisturized the sky.

-Muffy

PS

Make sure to visit iowagirleats’s giveaway!  its amazing!

6 Responses to “Turbo, You’re Expensive!”

  1. Food n Fitness said

    mmmm that Trail Muffy Mix sounds SO good–definitely a mix I’d put together as well! Very pretty pictures!!

  2. mmmm that Trail Muffy Mix sounds SO good–definitely a mix I’d put together as well! Very pretty pictures!!
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

  3. janetha said

    oh that salad is quite photogenic! and i am sure delish. sorry about the auto woes. gnarly storm photos! i love it.

  4. I have to get a transmission fluid change too :-/ They said it’s black and it should be cherry red. Stupid car expenses! Not fun.

  5. April (Foods of April) said

    Yummy mix of granola! they are so yummy aren’t they?

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  6. Sorry to hear about your car! Glad you seemed to have had a great visit though! That Greek salad does look delicious!!

    And to answer your question from yesterday, polenta is basically just corn grits but when you refrigerate them, they become solid and then you can slice them up and do whatever like grill the slices or make fries!

Leave a Reply

 
