Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


The Best Part of Waking Up…

Posted by buffmuffy on August 12, 2009

… Wait, what?  I would’ve slept forever if I could have this morning.  But alas I am woken up and cannot get back to sleep!

Unfortunately I am pretty much out of toppers for oatmeal and cereal unless you count the pineapple I brought home from work Monday night.  No fun!

Therefore I figured I would try something new.  I am going to have some oats with apple baked in.  I am regrettably out of cinnamon, but I’ll manage, because I have a lot of different Wholesome Sweetener products to try.

Enter Wholesome Sweetener’s Fair Trade Certified Organic Dark Brown Sugar.

IMG_4118

From the package, “Wholesome Sweeteners Fair Trade Certified Organic Dark Brown Sugar is soft, moist and fine-grained.  It is perfect for all your baking needs and especially good in cakes, cookies and sauces.  Use as a 1-for-1 replacement for refined dark brown sugar in any recipe.

IMG_4120

This dark brown sugar is just gorgeous.  It is moist and crystalline.  It has a deep rich brown color to it.

IMG_4119

I added it atop my apple oats, cooked them, mixed in it, and then added more on top and continued to cook.  I used less that 2tbsp (~50calories) resulting in a wonderful 300 calorie oatmeal adorned with apple slices.

IMG_4123

These oats would have been a disaster if it weren’t for the apples.  The oats and brown sugar and almond milk (too much I think) almost gelatinized in the ‘wave.  Ah well, the apples make it taste good though, and I’m going to be full for hours!

I also made 2 farm fresh eggs.  For them, I used a completely different method entirely.  I whipped one egg up and left the other yolk standing.  I added in almond milk and ancient sea salt.  I heated in the microwave for about 2.5 minutes and what resulted was a lovely scramble around a soft bright yellow yolk and an essence of egg white.  It tasted marvelous.  I am probably making my eggs this way from now on!

IMG_4122IMG_4125

To top off the meal was a Divine Grape Synergy Kombucha.  Yum!!!

IMG_4121

And to think I started out the morning thinking I had no food in the house.  Let the creative minds work!

IMG_4129

Bill is still fermenting away, and he has gone through some hard labor the past few weeks and had a baby.  Bill quietly pulled me aside and told me he wanted to name his baby Eric, but that he didn’t know who the mother was.  That’s okay Bill!  Eric is save with us.  See that whitish bubbly film sitting on top of Bill?  Yeah.  Meet Eric.

IMG_4126

Bill’s pH is still a little too high, but with the heat lamp he may have completed the Kombucha in time for my trip to Missouri.  How perfect would that be?  So make sure you cheer Bill on!  Like in Dora the Explorer … Say it with me now!

“Ferment, Bill, Ferment!”

Say it 3 times so he can hear you!

LOL 🙂

Hope everyone has a great day!  I need to run by the pet store and drink a ton of water today.

Also, make sure to enter Heather’s giveaway!

-Muffy

8 Responses to “The Best Part of Waking Up…”

  1. Amanda said

    Breakfast looks great! And so does your new hair 🙂

  2. Lainie said

    I put brown sugar on my oats this morning…only mine didn’t look like yours…mine was kind of hard and old. boo 😦 Great breakfast!

  3. Michelle said

    I think you’ve just inspired me to make my eggs that way! That’s a great way to satisfy both scrambled eggs and sunny side up! 🙂

    Yum yum!

  4. janetha said

    haha no part of waking up is the best! that brown sugar looks really pretty in that spoon for some reason. dude, scrambled egg plus runny yolk?! that is so great! i have to try it sometime. have a lovely day babe!

  5. Girl, you are cracking me up with the Bill updates. Too funny. Maybe one day when Bill ferments, he will start his own blog. He can call it ‘Bucha Bill LoL. Your eggs look great, what a creative way to cook them!

    And, no unfortunately I do not make the brown rice bread myself, I’m not that talented at GF baking just yet, I get it in the frozen section it’s by a company called Food for Life, I usually don’t buy it often, as it’s kind of pricey, but it was on sale last week.

  6. SHE-FIT said

    YUMMY breakfast! Hope you have a fabulous Wednesday!

  7. Wow those eggs look pretty good! Way to be creative with your oats.

  8. Food n Fitness said

    Woah the eggs sound awesome!! Mmmm and your oats look delicious!

Leave a Reply

 
