Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Only O.N.E. Running Drink

Posted by buffmuffy on August 10, 2009

Feeling a little blue and unmotivated, I dressed for my run anyway.  In I took about 10oz of water, 2 aspirin, 2 Crystal Manna, and half a Mountain Mint Wildbar.  Already I felt better.

IMG_4020

Along with on my run, I took two O.N.E. [with a splash of] Pinapple Coconut waters in my mini nalgene, since last time I had such good results with the nature’s Gatorade.  The pineapple was good, but I definitely think that the Mango is my fave flav!

IMG_4057

This was my last and final flavour to try of their new “splash of real fruit flavour” line!  I am completely and utterly in love with this product.  Ranking on my favorite flavours, I would say Mango is first, then Pineapple, then Passion Fruit, and then Pink Guava.  However ALL of them were amazing tasting and it was hard to pick a favorite!

IMG_3865

Here is some info about O.N.E. coconut water taken from their website:

O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is the water from inside the young green coconut. The water is extracted from the coconut at approximately seven months, before the meat grows. While the meat of the coconut (from which coconut milk and oils are extracted) is rich in fat and protein; O.N.E.™ Coconut Water has no fat. Our Coconut Water is naturally filtered through the dense fibers of the coconut creating a nutritious, pure, and refreshing isotonic beverage.

O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is 100% natural, and has five essential electrolytes (calcium, potassium, phosphorous, magnesium and sodium), more potassium than a banana (15 times the amount of potassium as most sports drinks, without the artificial chemicals found in sports drinks.), no added sugars, no fat, no cholesterol, and no preservatives. Additionally, O.N.E.™ Coconut Water is a naturally sweet, low calorie, hydrating beverage. Due to proprietary manufacturing processes, O.N.E.™ Coconut Water never comes into contact with light or oxygen, maintaining its fresh taste and nutrient content.

Now THAT is a powerful drink!  Each of these new splash flavours have this natural coconut water as well as a puree of said fruit, cane juice, vitamin C, and natural fruit flavour.  And from on the package,

“Make a splash and hydrate yourself.  Enjoy!”

A big thanks to Lucy who gave me this great opportunity 🙂  We both agree that Mango is our fave flav.

PS The pineapple did this weird bubbly thing when I shook it running.  LOL 🙂

I can honestly say that this is my new favorite drink to run with.  Absolutely Ahh-Maze-ing.

As for my run, it wasn’t the best, but I still am doing better than before.  I am running longer, my heart rate is staying lower, and I am able to push myself more, especially with the help of my coconut water.  Unfortunately today’s run was 45 seconds longer than last time because I was having some anxiety issues (something I’ve dealt with probably most of my life).  My hair was bouncing, my eyelashes were bugging me, you name it.  I know – weird.  Something I’m still trying to overcome naturally, but I just don’t know how yet.  It was hot and I am a major sweaty beast.

Now, on to lunch/dinner [linner?]!   I am going to have an AB+BP sandwich (almond butter and blackberry preserves) because they are so yummy and delicious no matter how messy they are, plus a golden delicious apple with a small amount of ab+bp on the side to dip in like I promised last time.  🙂  Also, a Blackberry Chamomile Solixir which I have been dying to try.  Oh, and the two mini maters from my minigarden!  Yum yum!

IMG_4059

The Solixir smells like blackberries this time, and tastes like a very barely sweet sparkling blackberry water.  I like it a lot!  So far this is my fave flav, as expected.  It contains a botanical extract blend of chamomile, passionflower, lemon balm, jujube, and hibiscus.

IMG_4063

Also, I am making some CCV Zuchinni Fries courtesy of Katie!  I can’t wait to try these when they are done.

IMG_4058

IMG_4065

Hopefully I can get past this stretch of water retention that seems to be haunting me constantly lately, so I’m going to try and drink as much water as possible.

I would like to keep the same questions I had on my last post up for everyone to answer because I have gotten only a few (but VERY good) responses so far…

Questions:

1. What are some clean ways to eat while I’m on campus?  I’ll be staying the night as well two nights a week, which means dinner and breakfast ideas also – and I’m tight on money! So far I have come up with oatmeal.  Lol.  I won’t have a fridge all day, so it cannot be too perishable unless it is lunch and I have time to eat it before it goes bad.

2.  Are you going to college this semester?  If so, where and for what?  If you have already graduated or haven’t gone yet, what did you do or what are your plans? I am going to the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, and I am double majoring for Dietetics and Nutrition, Exercise, and Health Science.  I have 2 years left, and since I transferred from a different university with a different major and am only going 5 years total with a double major, I think I’m doing pretty well!

-Muffy

PS: If you have an interest in reading my personal blog, please let me know.

11 Responses to “Only O.N.E. Running Drink”

  1. Thanks!! I entered you millions of times (well, really just the seven, but you get it hehe)

  2. Jenny said

    I LOVE ONE COCONUT WATER!!!

    I LOOK FORWARD TO TRYING THE SPLASH. WHERE CAN I BUY IT? IT IS NOT IN MY WHOLE FOODS YET.

  3. I love the Coconut water! Your zucchini fries look TDF, too 🙂

  4. Sandwiches for dinner sound good to me. Quick and easy on the wallet. The zuke fries are new to me! How did they taste? 😀

  5. Well, I’m wondering abt the same issues as you are! Money, nutrition, and taste and time is definitely a key concern for me in college. I’ll have to experiment a bit, but I’ll be intersted to see your own solutions!
    Oh, and I’m going to University of Southern California, and I plan to double-major in Journalism and chinese 🙂

  6. peanutbutterprerogative said

    ooo zucchini fries! that’s one i haven’t tried yet! as for school, what will you have access to? microwave? blender? bars are obviously always good to keep on hand, as well as fresh fruit that’s easy to carry around like apples, oranges, pears, kiwis, bananas. i always kept a nalgene bottle with me for water, so you could definitely pack one of those up with a protein shake in the a.m….i don’t know if that’s helpful! i wasn’t really that healthy in college until i moved off campus!

  7. I absolutely love that coconut water, I haven’t tried the flavored ones yet, only the plain. They sound really good though!! I will have to keep an eye out for the splash!

  8. I think I am going to do a post on how to eat economically…this may sound weird, but before you go, grab a can of chickpeas…you can always grab some bread at the store, mash them up and have a protein sammy…add nut butters or honey to make sweet, hot sauce/mustard/ketchup for savory…
    And I struggle with over thinking too much as well!
    Get in on my Cetaphil giveaway!

  9. dailygoods said

    GIRLLLL all those flavors sound AMAZING! i’ve GOT to get my hands on those 🙂

  10. janetha said

    mmm those zuch fries caught my eye. i think i need to look into a greens supplement!

Leave a Reply

 
