Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


45.3 (barely)

Posted by buffmuffy on July 30, 2009

1159 pm <.<

I have neglected to post about the rest of my night -oops!  So I am making this post a little late!  LOL.

For dinner, we went to Panera.  I got the 1/2 Mediterranean veggie sandwich with 1/2 classic salad, no onions or dressing on anything!  Here is the description of the sandwich … “Zesty Peppadew™ piquant peppers, feta cheese, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, onions and cilantro hummus on our Tomato Basil bread.”  It was super good.  That was a first for me!  The salad was blah, but oh well.  I got a whole grain baguette on the side which took me forever to eat.  I savored every bite!  Sorry, no pics!

After we got home, I had myself a few snacks.  I was in a snacky mood!

First I had a Honey Oikos and holy moly was it GOOD.  It is my new favorite!  I added in some dark chocolate chips, goji berries, and Muffy’s Mix.  Then I had a bag of Salt and Pepper Popchips.  I really liked this flavour!  I am new to liking pepper- it has always been a little too spicy for me, but I’m slowly starting to love it.  And then I had some banana soft serve (ala Gena ^_^) blended with coconut meat!  I topped it with a few frozen blueberries and some dark chocolate chips.  It was divine.  I made my boyfriend take a bite of it and he looked at it disgustingly, nearly refusing.  He gave in and was shocked that it tasted good.  LOL.

IMG_3805IMG_3807IMG_3808

I nearly broke my poor little $12 food processor making my banana soft serve though.  At the very end (thankfully) it was whirring and not spinning.  Uh oh!  After dishing it out, I turned it on to see what was wrong and it worked.  I guess it just got too thick for it to handle and it was stripping the turning part of the blade or something.  Ah well.  Maybe I’ll get lucky and get a half bday present from someone else lol.

I decided I would share a few banana nutrition facts out of my new book!  The pictures might not be great but I tried.  Lol.

IMG_3810IMG_3811

I love this book.  It is so detailed and there are at least 4-6 pages and 2 recipes on each food listed.  It is a huge book!  In the banana section, it was talking about the GL/GI of bananas and the difference between a green banana and a ripe banana.  It states that the green bananas have the combination of resistant starch and pectin that keep it a low GI/GL.  The resistance starch is resistant to digestion in the stomach and small intestine.  Once they ripen, the GI/GL values increase making a banana medium GI/GL food.  This is because (and I learned this in my food science class last semester ^_^) as the banana ripens (or any fruit for that matter) the starch breaks down into smaller fragments.  Since starch is made up of sugars, it breaks down into sugar, making the banana sweeter the more it breaks down.  That is when you freeze them for banana soft serve 😉

Source

So anyway, I work tomorrow from 4-1030pm.  Blah!  I am not looking forward to it, but at least Fridays are normally fun.  Once school starts, my schedule is going to be brutal so I better enjoy it now.  To give you an idea of what I have to look forward to in less than a month…

scheduleI kept this really messy because it is how I feel.

Red denotes driving time.  It is an hour to and from campus; thankfully I am staying the night on Tuesday and Thursday.

Yellow denotes gym time.  If I’m even up for it with this schedule, and depending on homework load.  But I need to stay active (not that it will be hard with this schedule!).

Green denotes lunch time.  As you see, I only have it marked on two days.  The other days will have to be a lot of eating on the go.

Blue denotes working.  I am working a 40 hour a week workload because I can’t afford to work any less hours.  As you can see, I work 8pm-2am on Mon and Wed nights … which means I will get as little as 3 hours of sleep those nights because I have to be up by 7am on Tues and 8am on Thurs.

Pink denotes class time.  Thankfully I am only doing 14 hours this semester, but I have 3 labs.  My hardest class will be Anatomy with lab, and the other classes are Nutrition classes (2 labs, 2 classes – only one of each go together though) and a required Library class, which I may not have to attend more than once.  It does say it ends October 7th, but I have no idea.

Gray denotes free time.  Otherwise noted as homework time, i.e. I have no more life time.  LOL.

Black denotes the most precious time of all.  SLEEPING.    I hope I am able to make time for this one.  LOL.

So that is my crazy schedule…  From August 24 through Dec 12.  Blargh!

Yeah.  Brutal.  The hardest part about the schedule will be getting my sleep in.  Driving an hour on 3 hours of sleep is not safe, but if I can make up for it elsewhere it should be okay.  And I should be fine with everything else.

Okay… Time for bed now.

-Muffy

4 Responses to “45.3 (barely)”

  1. Oh I lvoe the spreadsheet of your schedule 😉 Color coding is where it’s at! Too much blue on there though 😉

  2. Katharina said

    I’ve mixed coconut meat with the banana soft-serve and it was even more tropical tasting = a good thing!

    Woww you’re a busy lady. If you don’t mind my asking, what do you do for work?

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  3. holy crap girly…you are one busy lady! that’s awesome that you are so organized though, it definitely helps not forget anything.

    i love adding the coconut meat to the banana soft serve with chocolate chips – that sounds absolutely amazing!

  4. janetha said

    dang quite the schedule! i hope you make it work, looks like you have a good plan

Leave a Reply

«
 
