Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Day 41

Posted by buffmuffy on July 26, 2009

726am

Good morning lovelies.  I am up early this morning thanks to my bunny, and, however not linked to this situation, I decided that it was time for me to part with her after almost 2 years.  Largely because I start my 4th year of college in less than a month and my schedule is beyond what anyone could imagine.  It is very sad, but she needs the attention I won’t be able to give her and I can’t be selfish.

Anyway, on to happy stuff: FOOD!

This morning I am trying one of my new Nature’s Path cereals since I actually had time!

IMG_3637IMG_3633

The Blueberry Cinnamon flavour leaves a little something to be desired by itself, but it is very tasty alone.

Topped with strawberries, it is the perfect combination.  Next time I think I will do more strawberries and no yogurt.

I had it with some almond milk, strawberries, and a dollop of Oikos vanilla.  I also had a side of two hardboiled eggs with sea salt.  This was a pretty good breakfast.

I’m apparently in a blueberry mood today, because this is the bar I decided to take to work:

IMG_3638

This is a new one for me, so I’ll have to let you know how I like it when I get home from work!  And it looks like I am off at 5, not 6.  Woohoo!

And now, for a beauty review!

Avocate Skincare

Avocate group picThanks to Stephanie at Morris Organics, I was able to try these products out for myself.  But first, what do they do?  What is in them?  Here is the dish!

From their June 2009 Press Release:

THINK: Boost collagen naturally with the nourishing power of avocado oil.

WHAT THEY ARE: Ingredients from Mother Nature, formulated to help you defy Father Time.  In creating a luxurious, organic line of anti-aging skincare, Morris Organics relied on avocado—one of nature’s most potent age-fighting assets.

Clinically proven to significantly increase the amount of collagen in skin, avocado oil is at the heart of each Avocate® Skin Care formula. The Avocate® collection is 90-100% natural with organic ingredients and harnesses the power of avocado to stimulate collagen production while soothing and softening skin. The entire Avocate® line is designed to work with skin’s own chemistry to reverse early signs of aging: the loss of volume, suppleness and radiance. Free of artificial fragrances and colors as well as common irritants, Avocate® formulas are cruelty-free and never tested on animals.

Avocate® Body Polish ($17.50)
100% natural and organic, this nourishing scrub is blended with finely powdered Dead Sea salt, honey and avocado oil. Dead Sea Salt, celebrated for it’s anti-aging properties, buffs away dull surface skin while moisturizing honey and avocado butter hydrate the skin leaving it supple and soft. Use from head to toe—even on the delicate skin of the face.

Avocate® Skin Perfecting Body Lotion ($15.95)
This 90% natural and organic moisturizer soothes and reconditions skin with a combination of rich avocado butter, ylang ylang essential oil, Egyptian jasmine essential oil, frankincense essential oil and aloe vera. The antioxidant-rich formula defends skin against free radicals as it hydrates.

Avocate® Collagen Intensive Eye Repair ($18.00)
This intensive, concentrated, hydrating and refining eye cream reduces fine lines, crepe-ness, under-eye circles and bags from the inside out. 90.8% natural and organic, the rich, silky eye cream absorbs rapidly and nourishes the skin with rich, collagen-building avocado butter.

Avocate® Skin Glow ($45.00)
Get glowing, beautiful, hydrated skin with this 100% natural and organic formula. Formulated with avocado oil, vitamins A and E and essential oils, the moisturizer quickly absorbs deep into the skin and jumpstarts the body’s collagen recovery process, leaving skin looking healthy and refreshed without any sticky, shiny residue.

So what did I think?

Body Polish: I LOVE this product.  The sea salt scrubs your skin to a clean, perfection while the avocado oil and honey nourish your skin and moisturize it.  A lot of body scrubs will scrub the skin decently but be awful at moisturizing, but this product was able to easily do both and it didn’t feel oily unless I used it on my face.  Yes, that’s right!  I used it on my face because I love a good exfoilate.  The residue left behind on my face didn’t feel greasy though, like I feel after work.  It felt moisturizing, cleansing, and good for me. And the price is just right, costing similarly to what you’d pay at a bath and body store, and it’s also organic!

Body Lotion: This lotion is amazing.  It is thick and creamy, melts right into your skin, and spreads easily.  Other lotions would require handfuls upon handfuls of lotion to apply to the whole body, but I was able to get my entire body with one huge dollop instead of 7.  My skin feels softer and not as itchy.  This product is WELL worth its money.

Eye Repair: This might be one of my favorite products.  It isn’t as expensive as some of the other eye creams out on the market today which is a plus.  When putting this on, it was so rich and creamy that I wanted to put it on my entire body.  It doesn’t goop on and it rubs in so easily, unlike other eye creams.  This is, by far, worth the competitive price of $18.  I don’t even have wrinkles, and I want to slather this on my eyes constantly.  I do have severe under eye circles though, so I am hoping that in time it will make my circles fade some.  And believe me, I will be letting you know in a few weeks how the products are working for me.

Skin Glow: Now I have to admit I haven’t used this one much, mostly because I work so often and I just can’t stand the fact of putting MORE oil on my skin.  However it does absorb quickly leaving the skin feeling supple and moisturized.  It leaves a slight oiled feel, but in a good way and with no grease or excess to rub off.  It absorbs so quickly that it feels amazing.  And I have to say, I tried putting it on my face – soft moisturized skin AND no breakouts?  Who would have thought that was possible?  The only drawback of this product is its price, but if the money isn’t a concern, this product is well worth it.  No other product can do for you what this product does, or at least not that I have found.

Thanks again to Stephanie at morrisorganics.com for giving me this great opportunity to review these products.

About Morris Organics: The mission of Morris Organics is to make your skin happy, beautiful, and nourished by creating products that are good for customers and the environment.  Morris Organics strives to be a leader in promoting Total Wellness in the beauty industry by implementing “green” business practices, fiscal responsibility and accountability, and creating new innovative products while staying true to the natural roots.

Hope everyone has a great day today!

-Muffy

One Response to “Day 41”

  1. janetha said

    soo i am not getting email notification so i have to reply to your comment from my blog here. i had NO idea what you were talking about in your comment, i had to look at my photos for awhile and then i think i came to the conclusion you were talking about marshall’s dvd/cd player thing? haha.. not mine, not my car, i had no idea that was even called a head unit! funny. that skin care line looks epic! and i ❤ natures path cereal

Leave a Reply

«
»
 
