Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Day 26

Posted by buffmuffy on July 11, 2009

912pm

Wow, I am just now getting home to write!  I worked this morning til ~430pm, and had a Berry Almond (my fave flavor) luna bar for breakfast.  Sorry, the pic is upside down! LOL!

GetAttachment-3

I also had a Naked Mighty Mango Motion at work.

And when I got home we headed out to get SUSHI!

The meal came with salad and miso…

GetAttachment-2GetAttachment-1

And then I had a big plate of sushi!!!

GetAttachment

And yes, I ate it all.

We then decided we were going to the movies, so we made an executive decision and got the bill so we could catch the next showing of Transformers 2 that started in 15 minutes!!!   All i have to say is … AMAZING.  I loved this movie.  I thought it was the right amount of everything.  AWESOME!  I can’t even go on about it enough!

Anyway, afterwards we went to the grocery so I could get some fruit and we got some ice cream.  I got some not so clean dessert … Lemon sherbet … but I did get organic blackberries to top it with (after being inspired by some amazing lemon pie topped with blackberry sauce 😉 i love this combo so much now!!!).

And I got home and served myself an entirely WAY TOO BIG BOWL!!!

IMG_3283

YUM.  It is good.

I am also making my first batch of homeade raw Kombucha tonight.  Basically, you take tea, white sugar, and a scoby/mushroom, and the scoby ferments the tea using the sugar, and voila.  7-10 days later, homeade raw kombucha!  any longer … well, homeade raw vinegar!! LOL!

Anyway, here is a pic of the scoby (thanks S!) and all the mats I’m using:

IMG_3279IMG_3281

Basically I make two batches of tea and put in the mason jar with sugar, cool it down to room temp, add scoby, wait 7-10 days, and then strain and restart with some leftover kombucha or vinegar.

I can’t wait!

Working tomorrow, and then looking foward to coming home and relaxing.  Which is what I’m going to go do now!

-Muffy

6 Responses to “Day 26”

  1. janetha said

    ohhh sushi, love it. one of my favorites for sure! i have only heard bad reviews of T2! nice to hear a good one. i haven’t seen it yet myself. never tried that luna, i will have to pick it up! i am usually drawn to the nutz over chocolate one. they also have a chai flavor i’ve been wanting to try. i like your ambitious science experiment to make your own kombucha but blech.. i hate the stuff! hope it turns out for you! have a good sunday.

    • buffmuffy said

      Haha Thanks 🙂 My boyfriend’s cousin does it and introduced me to making it myself.

      Yeah, bad reviews on T2 seem to come from people that want to see more detail in the fighting because it is too fast, and maybe they think its a bit corny humor, but i loved every bit of it. 🙂
      -muffy

  2. Wow! You’ve sure been keeping busy! But sounds like you’re having fun too! 🙂

    LOVING the lemon sherbet with blackberries. Seriously, that mixture sounds AMAZING right now!

    Oh, I can’t wait to see how that homemade kombucha turns out! You know I love my Synergy, so I’d love to hear if it has a similar taste to that. So neat!

    xxoo
    Heather

  3. good luck with the kombucha!!!

  4. Katharina said

    I have never seen a Berry Almond flavor Luna bar. I’m gonna be on the lookout. Almonds are one of my favorite nuts 🙂

    Lemon Sherbet + Blackberries sounds like an incredible combo!!!

    I told my dad about making his own kombucha and he thought you needed something special to make it. He didn’t believe me when I told him that.

    • buffmuffy said

      Well you do need something special… the mushroom/scoby! But it is pretty cheap and easy to obtain. Then all you need is sugar and tea and a warm stable spot to place it for 7-10 days in a glass container! 🙂
      Berry almond is to die for… i love it!

Leave a Reply

 
