Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Day 24

Posted by buffmuffy on July 9, 2009

1123pm

Had the rest of my Kombucha with a couple strawberries in it … wow was this ever good. When I start making mine own, I would love to add in a pureed fruit or fruit juice like Synergy does.  This is why I need a juicer and vitamix!  AGH!

IMG_3257

Anyway, I also had 2 servings of pita with nonhydrogenated margarine and honey …  I don’t know why, but I was snacky tonight.  Not really hungry, just snacky.  Oh well!

IMG_3258

Anyway, I have an interview for a part time service position at 24 hour fitness at 3pm tomorrow, and it might be open interviews but I’m not sure.  Either way, it would be great to have a second job to help out with the finances, plus it would be something I love.  Since it is 24 hours 7 days a week (or at least I think it is, it might not be), it could potentially replace the job I have if the hours and pay work out, so cross fingers!  Plus it is a free gym membership 😉

Anyway, see you all in the morning!

-Muffy

***

742pm

Well I am having just a grand night!  We watched The Knowing with Nicholas Cage.  I was okay up until the … well I can’t spoil it for everyone but the end scenario that starts with an A … yeah.  Okay then.  Otherwise the beginning of the movie was awesome.

Anyway, dinner was chicken breast with rice/veggie mix and peas.  It was really yummy!  Est 500 calories?

IMG_3254

For dessert, est 350 calories, I had this lovely bite:

IMG_3256

It had ~1/2-1c greek yogurt, sprinkle of blueberries, 3 strawberries, sprinkle of flax, 1/8c chocolate chips, sprinkles of coconut and goji berries, and 1tbsp coconut butter.  YUM.  Filling, too.

I never got around to doing my exercises, so I’m going to go do them after I’m done blogging (in front of the tv <.<)!

-Muffy

***

337pm

Just got back from the stores and the only thing I did not find were Pom teas in the glass jars they used to have!  They are all in plastic bottles now and I’m quite upset!  They would make perfect glasses….

Anyway, I got lots of goodies today and spent about $38.

IMG_3241IMG_3243

IMG_3244IMG_3245IMG_3246

This is the Kombucha I got today, so I could taste how mine will taste.  It took me a long time to figure out what the taste reminded me of, but I finally figured it out.  Sparkling Wine!  It reminds me of arbor mist.  And it smells like vinegar.  As you can see above, I got 2 more of the flavored ones, which consist of 95% kombucha and 5% fruit juice/puree.

I also got that HUGE container of fage for less than $8! WOW!  And at whole foods, too!

Anyway, I also got some dog shampoo and a towel in addition to all of that, so I’m going to wash the dog here in a bit, and finish my laundry.

I am having my Kombucha in a martini glass since it tastes like wine (I know that doesn’t actually make sense, lol!) with a 100-calorie snack of natural applesauce, blueberries, strawberries, and Fage.

IMG_3250IMG_3253

Before I go off to do chores, I wanted to share some facts about Soy!

Myths and Truths About Soy

Myth:
Use of soy as a food dates back many thousands of years.

Truth:

Soy was first used as a food during the late Chou dynasty (1134-246 BC), only after the Chinese learned to ferment soybeans to make foods like tempeh, natto and tamari.

Myth:
Asians consume large amounts of soy foods.
Truth:
Average consumption of soy foods in China is 10 grams (about 2 teaspoons) per day and 30 to 60 grams in Japan. Asians consume soy foods in small amounts as a condiment, and not as a replacement for animal foods.
Myth:
Modern soy foods confer the same health benefits as traditionally fermented soy foods.
Truth:
Most modern soy foods are not fermented to neutralize toxins in soybeans, and are processed in a way that denatures proteins and increases levels of carcinogens.
Myth:
Soy foods provide complete protein.
Truth:
Like all legumes, soybeans are deficient in sulfur-containing amino acids methionine and cystine. In addition, modern processing denatures fragile lysine.
Myth:
Fermented soy foods can provide vitamin B12 in vegetarian diets.
Truth:
The compound that resembles vitamin B12 in soy cannot be used by the human body; in fact, soy foods cause the body to require more B12
Myth:
Soy formula is safe for infants.
Truth:
Soy foods contain trypsin inhibitors that inhibit protein digestion and adversely affect pancreatic function. In test animals, diets high in trypsin inhibitors led to stunted growth and pancreatic disorders. Soy foods increase the body’s requirement for vitamin D, needed for strong bones and normal growth. Phytic acid in soy foods results in reduced bioavailabilty of iron and zinc which are required for the health and development of the brain and nervous system. Soy also lacks cholesterol, likewise essential for the development of the brain and nervous system. Megadoses of phytoestrogens in soy formula have been implicated in the current trend toward increasingly premature sexual development in girls and delayed or retarded sexual development in boys.
Myth:
Soy foods can prevent osteoporosis.
Truth:
Soy foods can cause deficiencies in calcium and vitamin D, both needed for healthy bones. Calcium from bone broths and vitamin D from seafood, lard and organ meats prevent osteoporosis in Asian countries—not soy foods.
Myth:
Modern soy foods protect against many types of cancer.
Truth:
A British government report concluded that there is little evidence that soy foods protect against breast cancer or any other form of cancer. In fact, soy foods may result in an increased risk of cancer.
Myth:
Soy foods are safe and beneficial for women to use in their postmenopausal years.
Truth:
Soy foods can stimulate the growth of estrogen-dependent tumors and cause thyroid problems. Low thyroid function is associated with difficulties in menopause.
Myth:
Soy foods protect against heart disease.
Truth:
In some people, consumption of soy foods will lower cholesterol, but there is no evidence that lowering cholesterol lowers one’s risk of having heart disease.
Myth:
Phytoestrogens in soy foods can enhance mental ability.
Truth:
A recent study found that women with the highest levels of estrogen in their blood had the lowest levels of cognitive function; in Japanese Americans tofu consumption in mid-life is associated with the occurrence of Alzheimer’s disease in later life.
Myth:
Soy estrogens (isoflavones) are good for you.
Truth:
Soy isoflavones are phyto-endocrine disrupters. At dietary levels, they can prevent ovulation and stimulate the growth of cancer cells. As little as four tablespoons of soy per day can result in hypothyroidism with symptoms of lethargy, constipation, weight gain and fatigue.
Myth:
Soy isoflavones and soy protein isolate have GRAS (Generally Recognized as Safe) status.
Truth:
Archer Daniels Midland recently withdrew its application to the FDA for GRAS status for soy isoflavones following an outpouring of protest from the scientific community.  The FDA never approved GRAS status for soy protein isolate because of concern regarding the presence of toxins and carcinogens in processed soy.
Myth:
Soy foods are good for your sex life.
Truth:
Numerous animal studies show that soy foods cause infertility in animals. Soy consumption lowers testosterone levels in men.  Tofu was consumed by Buddhist monks to reduce libido.
Myth:
Soybeans are good for the environment.
Truth:
Most soybeans grown in the US are genetically engineered to allow farmers to use large amounts of herbicides, creating toxic runoff.
Myth:
Soybeans are good for developing nations.
Truth:
In third world countries, soybeans replace traditional crops and transfer the value- added of processing from the local population to multinational corporations.

For further information and references, see www.soyonlineservice.co.nz or westonaprice.org/soy/dangerisoflavones.html and westonaprice.org/soy/soy_studies.html

Wow, definitely a lot of stuff to digest.  The gist I am getting about soy is that it is definitely not as healthy as people think it is.  It is probably better just to have dairy, or if vegan/lactose-intolerant, to have almond, rice, or hemp products.  As far as soy-meat products, they are super processed anyway.  The major danger here is giving soy to young children, and those trying to conceive.

Anyone have any thoughts on this article?

My thoughts are that soy is just the same as any other food out there, but shouldn’t be glorified as a health food.

****

1204pm

Well I woke up about an hour a half ago to some kids outside the apt, but what am I gonna do?  I got 8 hours of sleep so I can’t complain.

For breakfast I’m having what I’m dubbing Tropical Oats and boy are they good!  Served with some lemon and white tea!

IMG_3236IMG_3238

Mixed:

IMG_3240Wonder what all is in this puppy?  Well here is my mix: 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 almond milk, perhaps 1/8 cup dark chocolate chips, sprinkles of cinnamon, flax, and coconut, 1/8-1/4 cup diced pineapple, and a slightly heaping tsp of coconut butter.  About 350 calories total.  And delicious!  It is like dessert for breakfast.  And I bet it will keep me full until dinner!

I have the day off today, thankfully!  And then I get to work every day for a week … 😦

Anyway, the plan today is Whole foods and Walmart.  And when I get back, Summer Glow Boot Camp exercises!

*Exercise 13: 3 wall sits, holding as long as you can for each

*Exercise 14: 1 minute plank, 1 minute right side plank, 1 minute left side plank

*Exercise 15: 2 sets of push ups and 2 sets of tricep dips

Push ups the other day made my wrist hurt really bad.  Any suggestions?  I’ll have to pain through them again, lol.

Well, off I go to shop!

-Muffy

4 Responses to “Day 24”

  1. April (Foods of April) said

    I’m seeing Knowing this weekend too!

    That’s interesting about soy.. I think everything in moderation is ok!

    That breakfast looks amazing.. especially the chocolate!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. I LOVE the Trilogy and Mystic Mango flavors that you bought, but I’ve never seen that Original flavor before. Sounds amazing!!! And I love how you drank it in a martini glass… too cute! 🙂 I’d say that my favorite is the Superfruits though. SOOOO good with that hint of goji berry.

    Speaking of which. LOVING your Fage mix again. I just can’t get enough greek yogurt!

    Totally agree with you on soy. No food is going to be “perfect,” but we just have to understand the postive and negatives of what goes into our bodies and decide for ourself what we want to fuel it with!

    xxoo
    Heather

    • buffmuffy said

      Heather-
      Awesome, I can’t wait to try them! I’ll definitely have to try the superfruits.
      Long live fage mixes and kombucha! HAHA 🙂
      -muffy

Leave a Reply

 
