Muffy's Blog

Journey to Natural Health!


Day One

Posted by buffmuffy on June 15, 2009

The boyfriend and I didn’t go to bed early enough and both of us had trouble sleeping…  We did not get up and run though we did wake up at 530 or 6 am … We agreed that our run needed to happen later in the day today instead of early.  So we will go on a run when he is off work!

I slept in til almost 10am, and I’m going to have my breakfast before I head off to the mall…

A green monster!  1/2 mango, 1 cup almond breeze, handful of spinach, a few ice cubes.  Eating the other half of the mango raw.

Total cals for this breakfast = 175 calories

IMG_2067

Then I’m of to the mall and also to find a Peony plant.  Wish me luck on good deals!  I’ll update with more later, around lunch time.

P.S.  After weighing in from being highly water retained, I’m at 149.2 … Not as well as I have been doing but a good start to the next few months.  Also, this green monster tastes like almond milk.  The spinach is barely tasteable (lol) other than for texture but the mango doesn’t add much sweetness or flavour really.  Odd!  But not awful, I like the taste of the unsweetened almond milk.

________________________________________________________

Hi again!  I’m back from my outing and I’m eating lunch.

It’s a whole grain pita pocket with sliced ham, colby jack cheese, and a couple servings of triscuits …. 515 calories.

IMG_2068

I like eating a bigger meal at lunch when I’m not at work because it keeps me from snacking too much later in the day.  I don’t know if I calculated the calories in the cheese correctly though… I weighed it and looked it up online but for 2 little slices I just can’t believe there are 135 calories in them.  Wow.

I also got a good lot of clothing from express and my peony plant, which apparently have already flowered but there is a bud on top and I am hopeful!!! I also got some food for my orchids.  I set out some furniture on my porch finally.  I have been meaning to do that for a while now, and I arranged it around my peony plant.

IMG_2069

I only hope I can keep it alive through winter to see it bloom next may/june!

IMG_2070It is supposed to bloom into beautiful white flowers with a red splotch in the center.  Wish me luck!

I’m unsure what dinner plans are, but I am at 690 calories for the day and I’d like to have around 500 calories for dinner, or 300 and a 200 calorie snack later.

For now, I’m off to watch some shows on my DVR!

Til later,

-Muffy

_____________________________________________

Had my 200 calorie snack… A banana and some better ‘n pb.

IMG_2072

______________________________________________

Ok so dinner ended up being subway.  I wanted a wrap, but had to settle for non high fructose corn syrup white bread because subway is apparently no longer doing wraps.  Therefore my meal was 290 calories (100 calories more than it should have been; stupid refined carbs).

It is turkey, cucumber, extra tomato, lettuce, vinegar, and oregano.

GetAttachment

This brings my total to 1180.  Not that calories actually matter when I’m eating this healthy, but I like to make sure I am not overeating on healthy foods too, because overindulgence is unnecessary.

My boyfriend and I went on a 45 minute brisk walk, about 2.5 miles.  We decided to start out small as to ease into it, but jogging is acceptable for that.  He is just sore today!

For my post walk dessert, I made an orange monster!

122g pumpkin, almost 1 cup of almond milk, a banana, a pinch of cinnamon, and a few ice cubes.  This drink totals 180 calories, bringing my total for the day to 1360, which is great.

IMG_2083Yum yum!  It tastes like banana-pumpkin pie!

I’ll probably laze around for the rest of the night 🙂

-Muffy

__________________________________________________

Okay one more update for the day 🙂  I was still in snack mode so I ate a couple more snacks.

I had another organic mango and a handful of cheese and triscuits.  I am really impressed at triscuits because they used to be so processed but the ingredient list is so short now!

IMG_2084GetAttachment-1

All in all I’m pretty happy with day one.  It went well, I got in some exercise, and I ate healthy.  Go me!

Tomorrow I work 10-6…  It is going to be a long day but I’m used to it by now.

I’m going to go read here soon and hopefully fall asleep!

-Muffy

Leave a Reply

 
